Terms of Office

The City of Monterey Park is a General Law City, which is governed primarily by the State of California’s Government Code and operates under the Council-Manager form of government. The City Council are elected by districts for four-year, overlapping terms. The City Clerk and City Treasurer are also elected at large for a four-year term.

Per the voters approved Ordinance No. 2096 (PDF) the city has established term limits for City Council, City Clerk and City Treasurer, collectively referred to as "Public Official." No person may serve no more than two consecutive terms as a public official. Any person will again become eligible to hold public office as a public official provided not less than two years have or will have elapsed between the most recent date of such person’s previous service as a public official and the effective date of such person’s most recent election or appointment to public office. After such a two-year absence, a new two consecutive term limit applies.

Senate Bill No. 970 (SB 970) approved in 2020 mandates the City Council change the date for the City's general municipal election to June or November 2022.  As a result, the City Council adopted  Ordinance No. 2212 (PDF) changing the General Municipal Election from March in even-numbered years to November in even-numbered years, to coincide with statewide election dates. For more information, view changes in election dates. Municipal elections are held every two years, on the first Tuesday in November of even-numbered years. Upcoming election dates are:

  • November 5, 2024 - Positions: Three Council Seats in Districts 2, 3 and 4 
  • November 3, 2026 - Positions:  Two Council Seats in Districts 1, 5, a City Clerk, and a City Treasurer
City CouncilTermTerm Ending
Jose Sanchez, Mayor, District 3Fill a VacancyNovember 5, 2024
Thomas Wong, Mayor Pro Tem, District 11st Term November 3, 2026
Vinh Ngo, Council Member, District 5
1st Term
November 3, 2026
Yvonne Yiu, Council Member, District 2
1st Term
November 4, 2024
Henry Lo, Council Member, District 4
1st Term
November 5, 2024
Elected City OfficialsTermTerm Ending
Maychelle Yee, City Clerk, At-Large 1st TermNovember 3, 2026
Amy Lee, City Treasurer, At-Large1StTermNovember 3, 2026
Appointed City Officials
Inez Alvarez, Interim City ManagerContract
Karl Berger, City Attorney  Contract

View the Salary Schedule to view elected official compensation and benefits.

City Council Meetings

The City Council and Successor Agency meetings are held on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at 320 West Newmark Avenue. For the benefit and convenience of the community, meetings are broadcast live on MPK-TV and replays scheduled daily. Find more information.